IB Film Studies II - Documentary Script: Internet Resources

• The Nerdwriter: https://www.youtube.com/user/Nerdwriter1 (CHECK THIS ONE OUT for video essays!)

• RocketJump Film School: https://school.rocketjump.com/
• Norton- Looking at Movies- An Intro to Film: http://wwnorton.com/college/film/movies3_dvd/
• No Film School: http://nofilmschool.com/
• Indie Wire: http://www.indiewire.com/
• National Film Preservation Board: http://www.loc.gov/film/
• National Film Registry: http://www.loc.gov/film/filmnfr.html
• Women in Film: https://womeninfilm.org/ffi/
• Criterion Collection: https://www.criterion.com/
• Film Education: http://www.filmeducation.org/

Critical Reviews (Although he CAN be a wonderful source, be weary NOT to focus solely on Roger Ebert: this applies to your oral commentary, too!)

• Pauline Kael: http://www.geocities.ws/paulinekaelreviews/

• Critics.com: www.critics.com: “For every film, we list the ratings of 15 prominent critics.  Some are the usual suspects (e.g., Roger Ebert) but we also try to use critics from different parts of the country and from different media in order to give a more representative idea of the national Critic Consensus.  Then, under the title Dueling Critics, we include two quotes, one from the critic who gave the film its highest rating and one from the critic who gave it its lowest rating.”
• CineFiles (Pacific Film Archives): www.mip.berkely.edu/cinefiles: A growing collection of searchable, online reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the Pacific Film Archive Library’s clippings files.
• Cineaste: www.cineaste.com:  “America’s leading magazine on the art and the politics of cinema” (Scroll down to “Recommended links” for an AMAZING catalogue of further sources for your Independent Study!)
• FilmCritic.com: www.filmcritic.com : Reviews of current releases. “…One of the oldest and certainly the liveliest film and movie review destination on the Web!...Four of our contributors are members of the Online Film Critics Society, the Internet’s most prestigious critics’ group.”
• Metacritic: www.metacritic.com/film/: Compares reviews of current films between critics (with links to online text of reviews when available.)
• Movie Review Query Engine: www.mrque.com: Perhaps the BEST single search engine for locating full-text reviews online, including reviews in journals and newspapers.
• New York Times Movie Reviews: www.nytimes.com/pages/movies
• Variety: www.variety.com/index.asplayout=advanced_search: Database of articles and reviews in Variety, 1914 to present
• Women’s Studies Database Film Reviews: http://mith.umd.edu//WomensStudies/FilmReviews/

Databases

• Internet Movie Database: http://www.imdb.com/
• American Film Institute: http://www.afi.com/
• Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences: http://www.oscars.org/
• Strictly Film School: http://www.filmref.com/
• Turner Classic Movies: http://www.filmref.com/
• British Film Institute: http://www.bfi.org.uk/
• Palace Classic Films: http://www.moderntimes.com/palace/
• American Movie Classics: http://www.amctv.com/
• Independent Film Channel: http://www.ifc.com/
• IFC Films: http://www.ifcfilms.com/
• Motion Picture and Television Reading Room: http://www.loc.gov/rr/mopic/
• National Film Preservation Board: http://www.loc.gov/film/

National Film Registry: http://www.loc.gov/film/filmnfr.html

Screenplay Sites

• http://www.screenwriting.info/
• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2JcJNul9y4k
• http://www.sydfield.com/
• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZdzQHSZRd2Y
• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZdzQHSZRd2Y
• http://www.documentarysite.com/
• http://www.documentarysite.com/?page_id=48
• http://www.filmsite.org/filmterms1.html
• http://www.psu.edu/dept/inart10_110/inart10/film.html
• http://www.springhurst.org/cinemagic/glossary_terms.htm