Robinson Secondary Library: IB Art Comparative Study: Databases &amp; Websites for Research

Contextual Research

Biographical Information about Artists

When using the databases, remember to target your search using Keywords with Boolean Operators in the Advanced Search Field. Doing so will make your search faster and more successful!

Questions? Just ask!

Biography in Context (Gale)
Learn about influential people in all disciplines; includes reference and periodical articles, and multimedia. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender. Updated frequently with current events.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO)
Full-text magazines articles and reference books covering virtually every general interest subject area; includes primary sources, photos, maps, flags and 77,000+ Associated Press Videos.

Culture and Geography

Explore the following links for quick and concise overviews:

CIA World Factbook (information about countries)
Google Earth

Sociology Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
This database contains materials for students studying aspects of human behavior and interaction such as gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO)
Icons, Idols, Ideas applies an academic lens to the seemingly everyday aspects of American life and interest to facilitate meaningful sociological and historical insights. Organized chronologically from 1900 through the new millennium, with each topic center devoted to a unique decade in American history.
CultureGrams
Unique, reliable cultural information for states and countries; vital statistics; maps, history, recipes, flags, and biographies.
World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy (ABC-CLIO)
Gale eBooks
eReference - Articles from encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

History and Global Issues

When using the databases, remember to target your search using Keywords with Boolean Operators in the Advanced Search Field. Doing so will make your search faster and more successful!

Questions? Just ask!

U.S. History in Context (Gale)
Significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Reference content and full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Global Issues in Context (Gale)
International viewpoints on global issues and current events. Features Issue and Country Portals that bring together a variety of sources for analysis. Includes multimedia sources such as podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.
World History in Context (Gale)
Covers significant people, events and topics in World History. Full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Gale eBooks
eReference - Articles from encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
eBook History Collection (EBSCO)
This collection features history titles across a variety of subjects, including History of Music, of Science, of the World, of the Holocaust, etc.

Political Science

Political Science Complete (EBSCO)
Tull text journals, reference articles and books in the Political Science field.

Current Events

News (Gale Onefile)
Major U.S. and international newspapers; search for full text articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section, etc. A one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
eLibrary (ProQuest)
Magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.

Art and Humanities Databases

When using the databases, remember to target your search using Keywords with Boolean Operators in the Advanced Search Field. Doing so will make your search faster and more successful!

Questions? Just ask!

Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)
Art, Architecture, Classics, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Languages, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Art & Architecture Source covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
Humanities Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
Humanities Source Ultimate offers access hundreds of full-text journals covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought.

Scholarly Databases

JSTOR
Scholarly journal articles on the college level.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
This database offers a collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in virtually every discipline.
ProQuest Central
Articles from journals, newspapers, magazines. Includes peer-reviewed, scholarly journals for biology, computing, education, science, psychology, religion, social sciences, and many other disciplines.
Academic Onefile (Gale)
Peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles; authoritative and comprehensive.
Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)
Art, Architecture, Classics, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Languages, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Academic eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Over 130,000 eBooks in all subject areas. Scholarly sources on the college level from university presses and academic publishers. Download these books to mobile devices!

Google Scholar

Keywords with Boolean Operators work here, too! If you find an article and can't read the full text on Google Scholar, we may have access to the same material in the databases.

Questions? Just ask!

Art Websites

Please scrutinize the quality of information you find below. If you find an article and can't read the full text, we may have access to the same material in the databases.

Questions? Just ask!