Artifacts from a Variety of Sources
Using the databases linked below, gather information that enhances what you found in the General Reference / Overview article. Avoid redundancy when making selections and think about how you can find artifacts that illustrate different perspectives, experiences, and stories in connection to the event. Just as a museum curator creates exhibits with artifacts from a variety of sources, so will you in assembling your text set.
Search for News Articles and Editorials in the database listed below. You may search for the event or filter by publication, date, topic, etc. or even type of news; this database will include editorials, images, transcripts with first person accounts, and broadcasts. You are also welcome to search in the other databases listed on this page, clicking "Newspapers" or "Magazines" to filter results. Avoid clicking on the first result in the list - select the best article or editorial for your text set.
Search for Video, Audio, Transcripts, and Interviews (first person accounts) in the databases listed below. Once you find the event, filter by informational type (audio, video, transcript, etc.) and select the best resources for your text set.
Video and audio sources need to be documented using the same basic guidelines for citing print sources in MLA style. Include as much descriptive information as necessary to help readers understand the type and nature of the source you are citing. If the author’s name is the same as the uploader, only cite the author once. If the author is different from the uploader, cite the author’s name before the title.
“8 Hot Dog Gadgets put to the Test.” YouTube, uploaded by Crazy Russian Hacker, 6 June 2016, www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBlpjSEtELs.
McGonigal, Jane. “Gaming and Productivity.” YouTube, uploaded by Big Think, 3 July 2012, www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkdzy9bWW3E.
Search for Images and Multimedia in the databases anywhere on this page or in those listed below. Most databases include filters for “Images” and “Multimedia”. Avoid clicking on the first results - select the best images for your text set.
How to Cite Images from AP Images
MLA Format - Photograph
Photographer's Last Name, First Name (if known). Title of Photograph or Description of
Photograph. Date photo was created (if known). Photograph. Title of Website or Library
Database. Website Publisher. URL/website address. Date of access.
Example
Jamali, Hasan. Jamal Kashoggi speaks during a press conference. 14 Dec. 2014.
Photograph. AP Images Collection. Ebsco. http://classic.apimages.com/OneUp.aspx?
st=k&kw=Jamal%20Khashoggi&showact=results&sort=relevance&intv=None&sh=14&k
wstyle=or&adte=1539953517&pagez=60&cfasstyle=AND&rids=cf0a53d9c17f41c3a4ad4
45e44b79c70&dbm=PThirtyDay&page=1&xslt=1&mediatype=Photo. Accessed 22 Oct.
2018.
Search for Social Media posts regarding your topic but remember, social media posts represent individual, biased, and often skewed versions of information. Social media posts are not authoritative but they do give you a sense of the chatter regarding topics. If you are offended by a post, close it and find another.
Begin with the user's Twitter handle in place of the author’s name. Next, place the tweet in its entirety in quotations, inserting a period after the tweet within the quotations. Include the date and time of posting, using the reader's time zone; separate the date and time with a comma and end with a period. Include the date accessed if you deem necessary.
@tombrokaw. “SC demonstrated why all the debates are the engines of this campaign.” Twitter, 22 Jan. 2012, 3:06 a.m., twitter.com/tombrokaw/status/160996868971704320.
@PurdueWLab. “Spring break is around the corner, and all our locations will be open next week.” Twitter, 5 Mar. 2012, 12:58 p.m., twitter.com/PurdueWLab/status/176728308736737282.