“Who lives, Who dies, Who tells your story?”
~ Lin-Manuel Miranda, Hamilton
Step One:
How does the quotation from Lin-Manuel Miranda’s musical, Hamilton, connect to the ideas in THIS brief article (from PBS Media Learning)?
Step Two:
Return to the introductory slide deck (page one of the guide). What do you notice about the images? How do your observations connect to the questions below?
Step Three:
Complete the Ordinary People Change the World activity and discuss as a class.
Elder / Hero Research
Using the databases linked below, gather information that enhances what you found during your topic browse. Avoid redundancy when making selections and think about how you can find information that will help you answer the questions in the research note sheet and accomplish the following:
OR
Just as a museum curator creates exhibits with artifacts from a variety of sources, so will you in assembling your research.
Biographies
Search for Biographies in the database listed below. You may search for the event or filter by gender, nationality, ethnicity, or occupation; this database will include biographies, images, news, videos, audio, and websites. Avoid clicking on the first result in the list - select the best information for your purpose.
Historic Events & State or Country Overview
Search for an overview of a time period then hone your research by looking into specific events, leaders, social movements, people of note, etc. The history in context databases include reference, images, news, videos, audio, academic journals, primary sources, magazines, biographies, and websites. Avoid clicking on the first result in each list - select the best information for your purpose.
Historic Headlines
Select an Era before picking an event and browsing headlines. Once you click on a headline link, you will be able to look at the newspaper as it appeared; you will need to scan each page to find your article(s).
Smithsonian
Search the Smithsonian for images, documents, objects, and artifacts relating to a time period.
Pop Culture
Select a decade then read about a variety of pop culture topics during that time period. Once you learn about topics relating to the time period, you may want to use a different database to access primary source examples. For example, if you learn about a musician, search for audio in a different database or online so you can hear the musician's music. Avoid clicking on the first result in each list - select the best information for your purpose.
Library Catalog
Search the catalog for library books on your topic or use the eBook databases linked below. You will find a wide variety of information relating to the time period of interest.
The author’s name or a book with a single author's name appears in last name, first name format. The basic form for a book citation is:
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
*Note: the City of Publication should only be used if the book was published before 1900, if the publisher has offices in more than one country, or if the publisher is unknown in North America.
Images & Media
Search for Images and Multimedia in all databases (from previous tabs) or in those listed below. Most databases include filters for “Images” and “Multimedia”. Search for Images, Video, Audio, Transcripts, and Interviews (first person accounts) in the databases listed below. Once you find the event, filter by informational type (audio, video, transcript, etc.) and select the best resources.
Google Images & Media
Can you Google images and multimedia? YES! As long as you follow these steps:
Click HERE to access the advanced search in Google
Use the following steps:
Enter your search terms
At the bottom of the page, add the following filter:
Find "Usage Rights" (at the bottom of the page)
Select "Free to Use of Share" (use the drop down menu)
Complete your search.
You are welcome to use the images displayed as a result of this filter, with proper attribution.
How do you cite Google sources? Click HERE to learn more!
