Skip to Main Content

2018-19 Academic Research and Hillbilly Elegy: Search Tips & Databases

Today's Goals

IB Lang & Lit 2: Academic Research & Hillbilly Elegy

By the end of class you will: 

  • Review efficient and effective search methods.
  • Search within scholarly databases, applying advanced search strategies, and find an academic study that relates to Hillbilly Elegy. 
  • Complete the academic research handout and submit it through Google Classroom.

Search Strategies - Review

Search Strategies for Scholarly Articles

 

Trick #1: Use the Advanced Search interface.

 

Trick #2: Limit your search by type of article (terminology differs by database):

  • Scholarly Journal

  • Peer-Reviewed

  • Refereed publications

 

Trick #3: Limit your search by content type, if possible:

  • Research article

  • Academic Journals

  • Full Text

 

Trick #4: Search with keywords; consider synonyms and words relating to your initial search terms. 

 

Trick #5: ​​Use Boolean Operators to string together concise keywords. 

Reminders

  1. Select an article that sounds interesting. If it's about an interesting topic, you will enjoy this process more!
  2. Even though you are looking at academic journals written for a scholarly community, make sure you can understand the article.
  3. Use Google Drive to organize your work. Download your article and save it in your Google Drive. Should your article include graphics, be sure to download the PDF before uploading it to Google.
  4. Use the Citation Tool to create the MLA citation.

Example Search

EXAMPLE Search:

  • In ProQuest, narrow to the "Education Database" 

  • Click on Advanced Search 

  • Limit to "Full Text" & “Peer-Reviewed Journals"; include "Images", if available

  • Set Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" OR “Academic Journal”

  • Enter search terms and use Boolean Operators (Appalachia AND "social mobility")

  • Download the article before scanning the results 

Scholarly Databases

TIP: In Proquest Central, narrow your search to Arts & Humanities, Education, Family Health, Political Science, Psychology, Social Science, Sociology, or US Newsstream databases.

Google Scholar Search

Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles and/or the citations indicating a great article exists.  If you are asked to pay for an article, please see a librarian to gain access to the article.  We may have access to the article in a library database, or we can talk you through going to George Mason University Library.