1920's Research - 22-23 - Roaring 20's Research - Robinson Secondary Library at Robinson Secondary School

Overview

Researching the Roaring 20's

Select the databases, linked in the table below, to conduct research for your topic of interest; for access to library databases at home, use the Database Passwords.

Sources for Research

Time Period & Daily Life

The databases below will enable you to learn about different time periods and daily life. Narrow your research by time period and gather information of interest. Please note: These databases also include information relating to the arts, culture, entertainment, major events, people of note, and social movements.

World Book Timelines This link opens in a new window
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Icons, Idols, Ideas applies an academic lens to the seemingly everyday aspects of American life and interest to facilitate meaningful sociological and historical insights. Organized chronologically from 1900 through the new millennium, with each topic center devoted to a unique decade in American history.
Daily Life through History This link opens in a new window
Explore the social history of societies from the Aboriginal peoples of Australia to the citizens of 21st-century China. Includes 66 distinct cultures, including the Inca Civilization, the Han Dynasty, Medieval Europe, and Postwar America with scholarly contributions and more than 5,000 primary sources and images.
ABC-CLIO Portal This link opens in a new window
Background information, biographies, primary sources, documents, images, timelines, audio clips, and maps.

The Humanities: Art, Music, & Literature

The databases below will enable you to learn about the art, music, and literature of this era. Narrow your research by time period and gather information of interest.

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Art, Architecture, Classics, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Languages, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
ABC-CLIO Portal This link opens in a new window
Background information, biographies, primary sources, documents, images, timelines, audio clips, and maps.

Major Events

Use the databases linked below to investigate major events, people, etc. in history. You may want to use the filters to help narrow the resources to match your interests.

ABC-CLIO Portal This link opens in a new window
Background information, biographies, primary sources, documents, images, timelines, audio clips, and maps.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Reference content and full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

People of Note: Biography

Use the databases linked below to access information about specific people. In some cases you will need to apply filters and select the best resources.

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Learn about influential people in all disciplines; includes reference and periodical articles, and multimedia. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender. Updated frequently with current events.

Religion

World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy This link opens in a new window

22-23 - Roaring 20's Research: 1920's Research

Overview

Sources for Research