Shakespeare, The Globe Theatre & Performances - 2023 - Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing - Robinson Secondary Library at Robinson Secondary School

Directions

Learn about Shakespeare, his Globe Theatre & Performances

Directions:

Complete activities #1 through #4 (click each tab on this page); you will have about 20 minutes to move through all four tabs.
As you learn about Shakespeare's life and times, investigate his Globe Theatre, and imagine performances during his lifetime, build upon your prior knowledge of these topics. Take notes on today's assignment doc, available through your teacher's Schoology course.
Share your thinking by participating in the class activity (the slide deck will be shared in class).

Shakespeare's Life & Times

Open the links and read the articles:

Read THIS article to learn some of the basic facts OR click around on THIS site.
Click HERE for additional "Fast Facts on Shakespeare's Life" (be sure to use the arrows at the bottom of each screen).

Care to learn more?

Open the databases, linked below, and search for Shakespeare. To access the databases from home, the database passwords.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
eBook: Masterplots, 4th ed, and Critical Survey or World Poetry. Analyzes important works of literature in all genres: fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction, throughout history and around the world.

The Globe Theatre

Take a Tour of Shakespeare's Globe:

Click the image below and explore The Globe Theatre
- Use the 360 degree feature
- Click on the videos and still images
- Notice the shape and layout of the theatre

Care to learn more?

Open the database, linked below, and search for The Globe Theatre. To access the databases from home, the database passwords.

Britannica School - High This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and magazine articles and 90,000 images, videos, and audio clips. Middle School students access an encyclopedia created for grades 5 and up.High School students have access to the Encyclopædia Britannica, written by Nobel laureates, historians, and experts.

Performances at The Globe Theatre

Read the short article:

Care to learn more?

Open the database, linked below, and search for "Western Theatre" or "Globe Theatre". To access the databases from home, the database passwords.

Britannica School - High This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and magazine articles and 90,000 images, videos, and audio clips. Middle School students access an encyclopedia created for grades 5 and up.High School students have access to the Encyclopædia Britannica, written by Nobel laureates, historians, and experts.

Performances at The Globe Theatre

Watch the video: