Persuasion & Research - 2020-2021 - Honors English 11 - Rhetoric & Persuasion - Robinson Secondary Library at Robinson Secondary School

Crafting a Persuasive Argument

Researching to Persuade: Creating a Balanced Argument

From your assignment document: "After you have thoroughly researched your nonprofit, you and your group will begin brainstorming ideas on what kind of content you would like to include in your video advertisement. Your group will be required to submit a storyboard/planning sheet where you map out a draft of what kind of content you would like to put into the video." See the next tab in this guide for storyboarding information.

Select and plan how you’ll present content that will appeal to your audience’s consciences (ethos), hearts (pathos), and heads (logos). Care to learn more? Watch the videos and read the information linked below.
Gather information that enables you to learn both sides of the topic and consider bias when selecting articles. Use materials linked on this page to support your research process; curate reliable information before designing your rhetorical appeals and arguments.
Shared Google Folder: If you haven't already done so, please create a Google Folder and share it with the group; all group members need full editing access. Once the folder is shared, please keep all research notes, storyboard ideas, and creations in the shared folder. This strategy enables work to continue, even if someone is absent.

Rhetorical Devices

Rhetorical Devices - Additional Resources

Purdue OWL Writing Lab is a wonderful resource for most writing topics! Check out their overview of Ethos, Pathos, and Logos by clicking the following link: Aristotle's Rhetorical Situation

Databases

Current Events & Balanced Research

Depending on your topic, consider limiting your results by narrowing your publication dates.
These databases will enable you to quickly find current information and the Pro & Con of an issue. This information will help you consider both viewpoints before crafting your arguments.
Database Passwords

News (Gale Onefile) This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. and international newspapers; search for full text articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section, etc. A one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on social issues. Viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database designed for middle and high school students, university undergraduates, instructors, and librarians. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources. All content is 100% full-text and selected from authoritative magazines, newspapers, photographs, books, statistics, infographics, websites, and more.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.