Robinson Secondary Library: Researching in Science: Sources of Information

Sources of Information

Begin with an Overview

Resource Type: General Overview Articles

When to use them? If you don't know much about a topic, it's a good idea to begin your research by reading some general, overview reference articles. These sources will enable you to learn subject specific vocabulary, develop a context for the concepts, and assemble a paradigm for your understanding.

How to approach this type of source: Use the databases linked below to read multiple general overview articles about your areas of inquiry. Search for articles using keywords (databases are not Google - you must be succinct in your search terminology).

Passwords: Open the database passwords by visiting THIS resource.

Science in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Covers today's most significant science topics. Includes reference content and full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topics include energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary sources, statistics, and multimedia.

Enhance your Knowledge

(Experiments, Data, Primary Sources, etc.)

Resource Type: Scholarly Articles

When to use them? Scholarly articles are written for the scientific community and often include primary source material. Many of your results will be long and dense; it's okay to read the abstract before skipping to the results and conclusions. Keep track of your citations, in case you need to return to the article in the future.

How to approach this type of source? Read overview articles (previous tab) to help find keywords relating to your specific topic; create a list of these subject specific keywords. Next use the keywords in the advanced search field to seek scholarly articles and studies (see the video below for more information). Consider limiting your results by adding filters such as Peer Review, Experiments, and Date (after 2016).

Passwords: Open the database passwords by visiting THIS resource.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals, newspapers, magazines. Includes peer-reviewed, scholarly journals for biology, computing, education, science, psychology, religion, social sciences, and many other disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles on the college level.

Contextualize Your Understanding

Resource Type: News Sources

When to use them? Depending on your research goals, news databases may be helpful as you connect your research to current events and create an argument regarding why or how the science is important to humanity.

Passwords: Open the database passwords by visiting THIS resource.

This magazine contains current science news!

- Newsela Science Articles (login using your FCPS Google account)

News (Gale Onefile) This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. and international newspapers; search for full text articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section, etc. A one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on social issues. Viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on global issues and current events. Features Issue and Country Portals that bring together a variety of sources for analysis. Includes multimedia sources such as podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.

Assemble Additional Sources

Resource Types: Books & eBooks

When to use them? Robinson purchases books and subscriptions to eBooks relating to a variety of scientific topics. These sources are valuable for research variety and depth relating to your interests.

How to approach this type of source: Search the catalog for library books on your topic. For an advanced search, login to Destiny using your FCPS credentials. Search for books and eBooks using keywords. Please visit THIS guide for step-by-step directions regarding checking out books, eBooks, and audiobooks from Robinson (and how to use curbside pickup)!

Passwords for eBooks in Databases: Open the database passwords by visiting THIS resource.

Click this image for science specific eBooks.

eBook High School Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full text titles with access designed for High School students across all academic subjects.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
eReference - Articles from encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Academic eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 130,000 eBooks in all subject areas. Scholarly sources on the college level from university presses and academic publishers. Download these books to mobile devices!