Robinson Secondary Library: Stereotypes: Library eBooks &amp; Databases

eReference

African American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
African American history and culture and its vital place in U.S. History. Includes more than 8,000 articles, biographies, primary documents, media, and historical accounts ranging from the WPA slave narratives collection to systemic racism. Leading scholars offer scholarly commentary on African American contributions in politics, business, social and applied sciences, military, arts, and entertainment.

Requires a Fairfax County Public Library card to login
- Library Account: Enter your FCPL library card number
Provides the meaning and comprehensive history of the English language, alongside quotations for examples of usage. Includes change over time.

News (Gale Onefile) This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. and international newspapers; search for full text articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section, etc. A one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.

Polling the Nations - actual polls and survey data

Gale eBooks: Database of reference articles

Search for reference/background articles within all eBooks.
Try a variety of keywords; for example: African American Stereotypes, minstrel, sambo, etc.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
eReference - Articles from encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Gale eBooks: Specific Encyclopedias - Stereotypes

Search within each publication below for your group or a type of stereotype.

For example: Native American or gender.