Targeted Research for Contextual Understanding
Directions:
The resources linked below will enable you to conduct targeted, contextual research relating to your research question for this assignment.
When using the databases, remember to target your search using Keywords with Boolean Operators in the Advanced Search Field. Doing so will make your search faster and more successful!
Passwords: Open the database passwords by visiting THIS resource.
Questions? Just ask!
Noodletools: Create a project in Noodletools, logging in with your FCPS Google account (click the image above). Please be sure to share your project with your teacher's inbox. If you are unfamiliar with this resource, please ask your librarian. You will use Noodletools to keep track of your citations AND take notes, using the notecard feature.
Enhance your Knowledge (Once you Select a Topic)
Resource Type: Scholarly Articles
When to use them? Scholarly articles are written for the academic community and often include primary source material. Many of your results will be long and dense; it's okay to read the abstract before skipping to the results and conclusions. Keep track of your citations, in case you need to return to the article in the future.
How to approach this type of source? Read overview articles ("Background Research" tab) to help find keywords relating to your specific topic; develop a list of these subject specific keywords. Next use the keywords in the advanced search field to seek scholarly articles and information. Consider limiting your results by adding filters such as Peer Review and Full Text.
Passwords: Open the database passwords by visiting THIS resource.
Databases
Databases
Databases
Databases
