Robinson Secondary Library: 2023-24 Art Extensions 8th grade -- Social Issues 3D Art Installation: 11/27 -- Exploration of Social Issues & Topic Selection

Contextual Research - Databases

Issues Research

Use the databases linked below to read information relating to your inquiry. Use advanced search features and consider limiting by date and / or publication, when applicable. Also, be sure you select "full text available" if that is an option.

Researching at home? For 24 hour access to the library databases, use THESE PASSWORDS.

Questions? Just ask!

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
News (Gale Onefile) This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. and international newspapers; search for full text articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section, etc. A one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database designed for middle and high school students, university undergraduates, instructors, and librarians. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources. All content is 100% full-text and selected from authoritative magazines, newspapers, photographs, books, statistics, infographics, websites, and more.

Encyclopedic - General Reference

Search for one key word at a time; avoid stringing the words together for best results in this type of source.

Researching at home? For 24 hour access to the library databases, use THESE PASSWORDS.

Questions? Just ask!

Britannica School - High This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and magazine articles and 90,000 images, videos, and audio clips. Middle School students access an encyclopedia created for grades 5 and up.High School students have access to the Encyclopædia Britannica, written by Nobel laureates, historians, and experts.
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window
Articles, primary sources, and online books. General reference and multimedia articles, worldwide news publications, and government links from numerous countries.

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

Point your cursor at one of the goals to reveal the read more about button. Click it for a full page of statistics and information about the issue associated with the selected goal.

Questions? Just ask!

U.N. Sustainable Development Goals
Learn about the 17 sustainable development goals that have been developed to address the global issues and challenges facing peoples and cultures across the goal. Each goal has its own "read more about" page with detailed information, statistics, fast facts, an infographic, and links to additional resources related to the associated social issue.

Additional Database Sources to Consider

The databases linked below encompass a wide range of articles from newspapers & websites, popular magazines / periodicals, scholarly journals, books, primary source documents, and multimedia sources such as videos and podcasts. Use advanced search features and consider limiting by date and publication, when applicable. Also, be sure you select "full text available online" (or something similar) where that is an option.

Researching at home? For 24 hour access to the library databases, use THESE PASSWORDS.

Questions? Just ask!

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on global issues and current events. Features Issue and Country Portals that bring together a variety of sources for analysis. Includes multimedia sources such as podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
News articles; 1940 – present; explains historical context of current events. Browse by topic, event, country, or person. Includes: historical video footage (filter by decade); key events by decade; primary source documents; editorials from around the world, editorial cartoons with questions, and This Day in History.

2023-24 Art Extensions 8th grade -- Social Issues 3D Art Installation: 11/27 -- Exploration of Social Issues & Topic Selection

Today's Activities & Directions

Contextual Research - Databases

Noodletools