Skip to Main Content

2019 - Honors Biology : Exploration & Background Research

Directions

Exploration & Background Research

For the remainder of the class period, work on the following:

  • Explore a variety of resources to make an informed decision about a topic of interest. 
    • ​What makes you curious?
    • What do you want to know more about?
    • You can use the databases to browse the information and create a topic. 
  • Select a Topic - Seek topic approval from your teacher.  
  • Seek Reliable Resources - Search within the databases linked to this guide. 
  • Conduct Background Research - Look at the findings of past scientists to predict what will happen in an experiment. 
  • Be prepared to Identify Variables and Write a Hypothesis for your experiment. 

Use the databases linked below. Remember databases are not like Google; you must use targeted key word search strategies to successfully find what you need. 

Search Strategy Reminders: 

  • Select your Keywords --> Open an "Advanced Search" window --> string your search terminology together using Boolean Logic --> modify your search criterion (new keywords) if you are unsuccessful at first.  

 

Categories for Topics: (See your assignment sheet for specific details - Click HERE, and make a Google copy)

  • Humans
  • Animal Behavior
  • Enzymes
  • Cellular Respiration
  • Photosynthesis
  • Plants
  • Ecology

Notes - Please click HERE for today's note sheet (you will be forced to make your own copy).

General Overview Databases

Scholarly Databases

Scholarly Database Reminders

You may target your search for scholarly articles by limiting the database you are searching within. See the video for more information. 

Advanced Search Strategies

Watch this video to learn about advanced search strategies in the scholarly databases. 

Books available at Robinson

Search the Robinson Library Catalog