Skip to Main Content

Research & Persuasion: Explore Global Issues

English 10 & Honors English 10 - 2016-2017

Explore Global Issues

Books, Magazines, & Newspapers

Browse the print materials at this resource station and begin taking note of issues and current events that pique your interest. While you may not have time to read full chapters or articles, enjoy investigating a variety of publications and begin asking curiosity questions. 

 
Books
  • Select books from the cart that relate to your areas of interest
  • Use the TABLE OF CONTENTS or the INDEXto guide your exploration
  • You may want to examine a variety of books during this station to get a sense of what is available 
  • If you don’t find one of interest, use our library catalog to find a book or magazine relating to your subject area of interest: Robinson Library Catalog
eBooks
  • Browse the following eBook collections, available through Robinson's databases
  • Use the "Control F" feature to search within the eBooks and target your searches
  • Examine several eBooks that catch your interest
  • Academic eBook Collection (Database)

 
 
Magazines
 
  • Browse magazines based on topics of interest to you
  • Examine the front cover story/photos, as well as the headlines on top
  • Turn to a story of interest and skim it
  • Examine several that catch your interest
Newspapers
 
  • Browse the newspapers for articles of interest
  • Examine the headlines and photos
  • Turn to a story of interest and skim it
  • Examine several that catch your interest

Ted Talks

  • Investigate topic possibilities while viewing some Ted Talks
    • Watch 2-3 videos with topics of your choice
    • Limit the time/duration to 0-6 minutes (you can select the length of videos for your search)
    • Limit the topic to Global Issues 
 

Databases & Websites

Browse the databases and website listed below; explore a variety of topics, create questions that make you curious, and learn about different issues. 

Databases
Gale Global Issues in Context Database
  • Click the “Browse Issues and Topics” tab at the top of the page
  • Read through the list and investigate some of the topics of interest to you

SIRS Leading Issues Database

  • SIRS Leading Issues Database
  • Browse Topics by clicking “View all Issues”, then click on topics you would like to investigate
  • Notice the "Essential" Questions section of this database; this aspect may help you develop a research question. 

Website

17 Goals to Transform Our World - Webpage

  • Click a Topic of Interest (a colorful square) 
  • Investigate the articles, videos, PDFs, etc. 
  • Learn about a variety of topics on the website

At Station 4, join a small group of students brainstorming topics with the 10th Grade English teacher.  Share your questions, topics of interest, and listen to other students' ideas.  The teacher will ask questions, and suggest ways to narrow or broaden your topic, or suggest related topics of interest.

Exploration Notes

As you explore, please complete the Day One Exploration Notes; you will find this Google Doc in your Google Classroom.