Additional Resources - Digging into your Topic - Research & Persuasion - Robinson Secondary Library at Robinson Secondary School

Additional Sources for your Research

Researching to Persuade: Creating a Balanced Argument

After finalizing your topic, collect information that satisfies multiple criteria in order to craft a persuasive argument.

Gather information that enables you to show both sides of the topic. Consider the author's bias when selecting articles. If you offer only one side of your argument, you will not be persuasive to the audience. Use the platforms linked below to find information on both sides of an issue.

News & Current Events

News (Gale Onefile) This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. and international newspapers; search for full text articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section, etc. A one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
eLibrary (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals, newspapers, magazines. Includes peer-reviewed, scholarly journals for biology, computing, education, science, psychology, religion, social sciences, and many other disciplines.

Note: Use the Database Passwords to view from home.

Researching Both Sides of an Issue

SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database designed for middle and high school students, university undergraduates, instructors, and librarians. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources. All content is 100% full-text and selected from authoritative magazines, newspapers, photographs, books, statistics, infographics, websites, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on social issues. Viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Note: Use the Database Passwords to view from home.

Small Group Discussion

Talk with classmates and your teacher about your thinking thus far. Share insights, questions, dilemmas, and breakthroughs about this process. What have you learned thus far? Where are your challenges? What is your plan, moving forward?

Research & Persuasion: Additional Resources - Digging into your Topic

Additional Sources for your Research

News & Current Events

Researching Both Sides of an Issue

Small Group Discussion