Resources for Research - 2018-2019 - English 11 Current Events Research - Robinson Secondary Library at Robinson Secondary School

Resources

Research Resources

Current Events: The databases below will give you full access to current publications. Because the databases are purchased for your use, you will never hit your maximum reads for a month in a publication like The New York Times, The Washington Post, etc.
FCPS: FCPS specific information is linked below; use the search feature on the FCPS website to find additional information.
National & Global Organizations: Some topics relate to global or international concerns. The sites linked below will be useful in answering many of your questions before you narrow the scope to Robinson.

Current Events

Open the Databases linked below.
Depending on your topic, consider limiting your results by narrowing your “Publication Dates”.

News (Gale Onefile) This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. and international newspapers; search for full text articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section, etc. A one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on social issues. Viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
eLibrary (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.

Note:

You will have direct access to the Robinson databases while in school
At Home: Click here for database passwords (you need to be logged in to your school Google account to view the document).