Step Two: Enhancing Background Knowledge - 2024 - English 10 Research - Robinson Secondary Library at Robinson Secondary School

Today's Lesson & Materials

Click on the image to open today's lesson & materials

Noodletools & Database Passwords

Database Passwords and Noodletools

Use the links to access Noodletools and the Robinson Library Research Database passwords when researching from home:

Background Research

General Overview Articles / Reference Source

Begin with an Overview - Reference Article

Resource Type: General Overview, Reference Articles

When to use them? If you are browsing for a topic OR don't know much about a topic, it's a good idea to begin your research by reading some general, overview reference articles. These sources will enable you to learn subject specific vocabulary, develop a context for the concepts, and assemble a paradigm for your understanding.

How to approach this type of source: Use the databases linked below to read multiple general overview articles about your areas of inquiry. Search for articles using keywords (databases are not Google - you must be succinct in your search terminology).

Passwords: Open the database passwords by visiting THIS page.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on social issues. Viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on global issues and current events. Features Issue and Country Portals that bring together a variety of sources for analysis. Includes multimedia sources such as podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.

2024 - English 10 Research: Step Two: Enhancing Background Knowledge

Overview Article

Today's Lesson & Materials

Noodletools & Database Passwords

Background Research