2024 - English 10 Research: Step Three: Curating your Text Set

Video, Audio, Transcripts, and Interviews

Search for Video, Audio, Transcripts, and Interviews (first person accounts) in the databases listed below. Once you find the event, filter by informational type (audio, video, transcript, etc.) and select the best resources for your text set.

Database Passwords for 24/7 access

Stats & Data Sources

Search for Statistics in the databases in the databases listed below. Most databases include filters for “Infographics” or “Statistics”. Avoid clicking on the first results - select the best images for your text set.

Database Passwords for 24/7 access

Seeking Balanced Information

Search for a variety of sources in the databases listed below. You may search for the issue or filter by publication, date, topic, etc. or even type of source; these databases include a variety of filters. Avoid clicking on the first result in the list - select the best article, editorial, audio, or video for your text set. 

Database Passwords for 24/7 access

Images

Search for Images and Statistics in the databases anywhere on this page or in those listed below. Most databases include filters for “Images” and “Statistics”. Avoid clicking on the first results - select the best images for your text set.

Database Passwords for 24/7 access

Google Images & Media

Okay to use Google images and multimedia? YES! As long as you follow these steps: 

• Click HERE to access the advanced search in Google

• Use the following steps:

  • Enter your search terms

  • At the bottom of the page, add the following filter: 

    • Find "Usage Rights" (at the bottom of the page)

    • Select "Creative Commons" (use the drop down menu)

    • Complete your search. 

• You are welcome to use the images displayed as a result of this filter, with proper attribution. 

How do you cite Google sources? Click HERE to learn more! 

How to Cite Images from AP Images & Google

MLA Format - Photograph  

Photographer's Last Name, First Name (if known). Title of Photograph or Description of

     Photograph. Date photo was created (if known).  Photograph. Title of Website or Library

     Database. Website Publisher. URL/website address.  Date of access.  

Example

Jamali, Hasan.  Jamal Kashoggi speaks during a press conference.  14 Dec. 2014.  

              Photograph.  AP Images Collection.  Ebsco.  http://classic.apimages.com/OneUp.aspx?

st=k&kw=Jamal%20Khashoggi&showact=results&sort=relevance&intv=None&sh=14&k

wstyle=or&adte=1539953517&pagez=60&cfasstyle=AND&rids=cf0a53d9c17f41c3a4ad4

45e44b79c70&dbm=PThirtyDay&page=1&xslt=1&mediatype=Photo.  Accessed 22 Oct.

2018.

Internet Sources

Search the Internet for additional information about your topic. As with the example text set, you may want to look at Tweets, News Broadcasts, Videos, Graphics, etc. You are welcome to look at the United Nations sustainable development goals website, used during your exploration, too! Remember to evaluate what you read for Credibility, Accuracy, Reliability, and Timeliness (the date); scrutinize the information and determine how the author might be biased in presenting her / his perspective on the topic. 

Google

• Advanced Search - Open the advanced search window in Google by clicking HERE. 
• Google Scholar - Open Google Scholar by clicking HERE. 

Basic Book Format - From Purdue OWL

The author’s name or a book with a single author's name appears in last name, first name format. The basic form for a book citation is:

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.

*Note: the City of Publication should only be used if the book was published before 1900, if the publisher has offices in more than one country, or if the publisher is unknown in North America.