Exploration of Potential Topics - English 10 - Inspired by History (2018) - Robinson Secondary Library at Robinson Secondary School

Directions

Exploring Potential Topics

Create a list of events from your lifetime that made an impression on you. Don't worry about the details of these events but rather list everything that comes to mind.
Browse the research databases and begin learning some of the basic information about the events on your list (the who? what? when? where?). While you may not have time to read full chapters or articles, enjoy investigating a variety of publications and begin asking curiosity questions. Throughout this process you will likely think of other events; add those to your list as well!
Complete the exploration note sheet in your teacher's Google Classroom.

Day One Resources

Step One: Create a List of Events
Step Two: Learn about the Events & Cite your Sources

Brainstorm & Browse

Begin by brainstorming events from your lifetime that made an impression on you. Don't worry about the details of these events but rather list everything that comes to mind.

Care for inspiration?

Spend some time exploring the magazines, reviewing the links below, and searching on the Internet. Feel free to bounce around within the resources, as they are not intended as definitive lists but rather as idea sparks. Additionally, keep in mind the bias of many news organizations. If you are looking for an overview of a particular year, search "Year in Review" and the date. For examples, see below:

ELibrary Database: Click HERE and explore (keeping dates in mind).
2018 Year in Review - Associated Press
2018 The Year in Review - CBS News
2018 Year in Review - FOX News
2017 Year in Review - Associated Press
2017 in Review - ABC News
16 Stories that defined 2016 - CBS News

Question, Search, & Learn

Use databases listed below to learn deepen your understanding of the events on your list. What would you like to know about the events? Write questions, search for information, and reflect on what you learn. Complete the note sheet as you read and learn about the topics.

To cite sources in a database, follow these easy steps:

Click “Cite”
Copy the MLA 8 citation
Paste the citation into your notes sheet
If you would like to see the process, feel free to watch the videos linked below.

Britannica School - High This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and magazine articles and 90,000 images, videos, and audio clips. Middle School students access an encyclopedia created for grades 5 and up.High School students have access to the Encyclopædia Britannica, written by Nobel laureates, historians, and experts.
News (Gale Onefile) This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. and international newspapers; search for full text articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section, etc. A one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Reference content and full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers significant people, events and topics in World History. Full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database designed for middle and high school students, university undergraduates, instructors, and librarians. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources. All content is 100% full-text and selected from authoritative magazines, newspapers, photographs, books, statistics, infographics, websites, and more.

English 10 - Inspired by History (2018): Exploration of Potential Topics

Directions

Day One Resources

Question, Search, & Learn

​Use databases listed below to learn deepen your understanding of the events on your list. What would you like to know about the events? Write questions, search for information, and reflect on what you learn. Complete the note sheet as you read and learn about the topics.

Use databases listed below to learn deepen your understanding of the events on your list. What would you like to know about the events? Write questions, search for information, and reflect on what you learn. Complete the note sheet as you read and learn about the topics.